Mentor
    10-27-2008, 10:33 PM #1

Apple needs Sirius/XM in the iPod...

Look at this chart of the iPod's sales decline as a percentage of Apples revenue...

http://fortuneapple20.files.wordpres...picture-81.png

Satellite radio in the iPod would boost sales huge. Apple could buy SIRI if it wanted to. They would probably manage it better...

10-28-2008, 08:43 AM #2
    With all due respect, NO they don't.

It is SIRIUS that NEEDS to create a BETTER ONLINE radio interface like Rhapsody for the ipod.

Being an artist, I've been the biggest "Apple Head" for years...waaay before they became so "hot" with the mainstream....and if there is ONE thing I know, it's Steve Jobs.

This "fantashy" of a "satellite ipod" is NOT going to happen...so it's best to put that out of your mind.

Apple will wait until WIFI is EVERYWHERE before they make their thin ipods thicker to hold a satellite receiver.

I've said this before, but Sirius needs to take the likes of Rhapsody MORE seriously and go head to head with them. YES Sirius has better content....but they NEED to create a better online experience to better compete with Rhapsody and others like it. They NEED to get an OFFICIAL program on the itunes app store for SiriusXM right AWAY.

This and the COMPLETE LACK of advertising is KILLING us just as surely as being in limbo about the debt refinancing right now.

The PUBLIC needs to SEE some cool ads. They NEED to be SHOWN how COOL Sirius is. How much BETTER it is than Rhapsody. But there is absolutely ZERO exposure out there for them. I am sorry, but a little "BLURB" in a car commercial mentioning Sirius IS NOT ENOUGH!!!!

ANd WHEN they mention Sirius....they ONLY mention Sirius!!!! NO ONE OUT THERE KNOWS THAT THEY'VE MERGED WITH XM. NOBODY!!!

Where are the COOL commercials featuring Brett Favre promoting the NFL on Sirius XM??? Where are the creative tv spots featuring top music personalities hawking the COOLNESS that is Sirius XM???