Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Repeated "Acquiring Signal"---not an antenna issue!

  1. #11
    HANDSOME HARRY is offline
    Junior Member
    HANDSOME HARRY's Avatar
    Joined: Jul 2015 Posts: 1
    This is exactly what happen to me....my lifetime subscription sportster boombox...just stoped a few weeks back and the acquiring signal message appears.....don't know what to do next which is why I began searching and found the forum...

  2. #12
    mel is offline
    Junior Member
    mel's Avatar
    Joined: Aug 2015 Posts: 1

    Antenna issue

    Quote Originally Posted by SiriusBuzz View Post
    The problem is, satellites move. Its likely that at that time of day the satellites aren't directly lined up with your antenna.

    Check this out; http://www.tiger-usa.com/satellite_animation.htm

    This page will show you the best possible direction to point your antenna; http://shop.siriusxm.com/edealinv/se...ParentID=58940

    Hope this helps!

  3. #13
    lrobertsonsc is offline
    Junior Member
    lrobertsonsc's Avatar
    Joined: Sep 2015 Location: South Carolina Posts: 1
    I have been a Sirius customer for about five years and have the same problem as all of the postings in this thread. I use Sirius to listen to classical music and especially the Metropolitan Opera station. Over the past year the constant interruptions with lost sound and the message"acquiring signal" (even on a cloudless day) have become so pronounced and frequent that I find myself turning off the radio in frustration and anger. I have had the signal reset and purchased a new antenna but neither has helped. My Antenna is set north, northwest, from South Carolina which is what they say is best. Is there any new information on this problem?

  4. #14
    Jay9536c is offline
    Junior Member
    Jay9536c's Avatar
    Joined: Dec 2015 Location: North Carolina Posts: 4
    I have been having the same problem now for last month or so, I have a mobile device mounted in the home kit that came with purchase, Wife did not like it in her vehicle so I took home kit and put it in my garage. Mounted it on shelf, had the flip up antennae mounted in the northwest window. Worked fine all summer, use to have a 7 for signal, now i can only get 4 bars when aligning signal, switched out to magnetic omni directional antennae for vehicle mounted outside, no difference, changed antennaes so much the antennae port came out of docking station. purchased another docking station, no difference, refreshed radio through website, no difference. Does anyone have any other suggestions? Could it be the time of year that satellites move differently? I will not be renewing my subscription if it can not be fixed. BTW, I can park my truck, 5 feet away from where antennae is mounted outside, and i have no problems with signal in my truck.
    Truck radio is a whole different radio and subscription.

  5. #15
    SiriusBuzz is offline
    Head Honcho
    SiriusBuzz's Avatar
    Joined: May 2007 Posts: 2,675
    @Jay

    Its a longshot but, it could be electrical interference. Have you added any new electronics or extension cords near the antenna or its wire?
    Charles LaRocca
    SiriusBuzz Founder

  6. #16
    Jay9536c is offline
    Junior Member
    Jay9536c's Avatar
    Joined: Dec 2015 Location: North Carolina Posts: 4
    Quote Originally Posted by SiriusBuzz View Post
    @Jay

    Its a longshot but, it could be electrical interference. Have you added any new electronics or extension cords near the antenna or its wire?
    Charles,

    Thank you for responding, no the radio an antennae are located in back corner of garage, except the outlet it is plugged into there is no external electric near by.
    As an update, I called Sirius Tech Support and they sent me a replacement Stratus 7 radio kit. I installed all of these new items, and I get same problem, although less frequently. I did get new antennae lined up better and have 7 bars out of 10 for signal. I keep an eye on the signal meter on the radio.
    Today was a good example, working in garage most of the day, radio played fine, around 5pm, signal started dropping from 7 to zero, then back to 4 to zero, back to 7 ect..ect.. Obviously sound drops in and out and gets very annoying. I hope we can find a solution as i like having this radio in garage, but definitely will not renew subscription when it comes up if we cannot find a solution.

    I wish there was a better home mount antennae that would guarantee a better reception then the clam shell. I tried the omni antennae, and the signal is worse, only 4 bars. I am in No Carolina and have it pointed NW ( where i got the 7 bars) but I do not understand why I can go from 7 to zero ???

    Any Suggestions ??

    Thanks

    Jay

  7. #17
    hwkn is offline
    Member
    hwkn's Avatar
    Joined: Apr 2014 Location: Evanston,Il Posts: 33
    Move the antenna outside of the garage......then again it could be that someone's using a microwave oven or another electronic device in your area at that time that's causing interferrence.[some devices can cause trouble with reception]

  8. #18
    Jay9536c is offline
    Junior Member
    Jay9536c's Avatar
    Joined: Dec 2015 Location: North Carolina Posts: 4
    Quote Originally Posted by hwkn View Post
    Move the antenna outside of the garage......then again it could be that someone's using a microwave oven or another electronic device in your area at that time that's causing interferrence.[some devices can cause trouble with reception]
    The antennae is outside the garage, on a mount keeping it about 12 inches away from side of building
    I live in the mountains of Western North Carolina, at about 3000 ft altitude, i have 2 acres of property surrounding me, and closest neighbor is well over 2000 ft away ( direct line even though you could not walk it direct )
    So I do not believe it caused by your suggestion, but thanks for trying.

    Still open for other ideas, as so far today I have had solid 7 bars of signal and no drops, but this seems to change daily

    Jay

  9. #19
    hwkn is offline
    Member
    hwkn's Avatar
    Joined: Apr 2014 Location: Evanston,Il Posts: 33
    Another thing that can mess with a signal is leaves and branches blowing in the wind(especially wet leaves.....I have that problem on a regular basis)Where I am in the Chicago area it's tough to stop that thing from blocking reception off and on.

  10. #20
    SiriusBuzz is offline
    Head Honcho
    SiriusBuzz's Avatar
    Joined: May 2007 Posts: 2,675
    If the signal is dropping from 7 to 0, something is interfering. If it isn't electrical (like a running microwave), then it is physical (like a tree).
    Charles LaRocca
    SiriusBuzz Founder

  11. Ad Fairy Senior Member
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •