Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Inconsistent reception in the car ... Need help

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Igoboe is offline
    Junior Member
    Igoboe's Avatar
    Joined: Jul 2013 Posts: 2

    Inconsistent reception in the car ... Need help

    Hi all,

    In 2009 install Sirius in my 2006 Lexus LS430 (with Navigation) in very respectable car stereo shop and it worked great but for the past several months the reception had been very inconsistent, sometimes it works for weeks no problem sometimes the display says "LOADING" and the only way to get the sat radio work is to stop the engine and start it again (sometimes I have to do it several times to get it work).

    However, for the last few days the display in my NAV has been saying "Tuner ERROR" ... ?!?!

    Regardless, FM and AM always work. Does anybody have this problem?
    Is vehicle tuner (its SCC1) in the car dead?

    Please, let me know if you know.

    Thank you,

    IL

  2. #2
    SiriusBuzz is offline
    Head Honcho
    SiriusBuzz's Avatar
    Joined: May 2007 Posts: 2,508
    Sounds like the tuner is dying or the cables are lose. Have you tried unplugging the power and sat cable and reseating them?

    BTW, where do you live? Is your car black? Im curious if this heat wave may have affected something.
    Charles LaRocca
    SiriusBuzz Founder

  3. #3
    Igoboe is offline
    Junior Member
    Igoboe's Avatar
    Joined: Jul 2013 Posts: 2
    Quote Originally Posted by SiriusBuzz View Post
    Sounds like the tuner is dying or the cables are lose. Have you tried unplugging the power and sat cable and reseating them?

    BTW, where do you live? Is your car black? Im curious if this heat wave may have affected something.


    SiriusBuzz,

    Thank you for your reply, although my car is not black I noticed that the heat effects the radio reception : its more problematic when it's very hot.

    My Lexus is silver and I live in Washington DC area.

    IL

  4. #4
    SiriusBuzz is offline
    Head Honcho
    SiriusBuzz's Avatar
    Joined: May 2007 Posts: 2,508
    Do you have easy access to the SCC1? If so, I would try plugging and unplugging the wires. If you're still having a problem, I would try replacing the unit (warranty?).
    Charles LaRocca
    SiriusBuzz Founder

  5. Ad Fairy Senior Member

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •