Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Internet radio not working (XP, IE 8)

  1. #1
    jjupin is offline
    Junior Member
    jjupin's Avatar
    Joined: Dec 2010 Posts: 7

    Angry Internet radio not working (XP, IE 8)

    Hey, All,

    Sirius was working on my work machine - I usually leave my browser running - and everything was fine. I came back on a Monday after the machine was booted over the weekend - and now, no matter what, the radio doesn't work.

    I get the dialog box with the player and all okay - I select a channel - usually Lithium - and nothing - I click start and stop - still nothing - no sound. The last five songs doesn't fill in - zilch. This was working fine.

    Oddly enough, if I leave it open and just work - eventually, it knows that I'm not playing and I get the "click here to continue playing" message.

    I tried several the tricks posted here and nothing seems to matter. I have a sneaky suspicion that some cookie somewhere is blocking me. I've cleared out the cache and history in IE8 many times.

    Now, it's not the account - I use a player on my Mac at home and it works fine all the time. And, yes, I do log off of that before leaving for work so that Sirius doesn't think two players are running.

    Any suggestions?

    Note: Sirius is not rejecting my account login - I'm just not getting any streaming (I belive) to the player.

    Help! I need my tunes!

    Thanx.

    peace. JOe...

  2. #2
    SiriusBuzz is offline
    Head Honcho
    SiriusBuzz's Avatar
    Joined: May 2007 Posts: 2,489
    Can you hear other audio? Maybe its your audio card?

    If not, try accessing the player in Firefox and see if that works.
    Charles LaRocca
    SiriusBuzz Founder

  3. #3
    jjupin is offline
    Junior Member
    jjupin's Avatar
    Joined: Dec 2010 Posts: 7
    Nope - that didn't work either. Firefox doesn't show the last five box and again, no sound.

    Sound card works fine - I can play iTunes and hear music just fine. Also, I can hear webEx meetings through the browser and play / hear flash files just fine.

    I have no idea why Sirius' player is not playing the music...

  4. #4
    SiriusBuzz is offline
    Head Honcho
    SiriusBuzz's Avatar
    Joined: May 2007 Posts: 2,489
    Firefox has never shown the last 5 songs (I hate that).

    Is this a work computer? Is it possible your IT Dept blocked the Sirius feed?
    Charles LaRocca
    SiriusBuzz Founder

  5. #5
    jjupin is offline
    Junior Member
    jjupin's Avatar
    Joined: Dec 2010 Posts: 7
    No - not that. When my company blocks sites - it does it at the domain name level - so we'd never be able to get to the site at all if that was the case.

    Also, it's not a bandwidth issue since lots of people have iTunes going all the time, - I can get feeds from iTunes no problem.

    It's only with Sirius that I'm having this (new) problem - like I said, last week it worked fine - now nothing.

    Something is being cached someplace that's not allowing the streaming to get through.

    I'm going to run an experiment where I use someone else's computer and see if it works then...

    JOe... getting even more ->

  6. #6
    SiriusBuzz is offline
    Head Honcho
    SiriusBuzz's Avatar
    Joined: May 2007 Posts: 2,489
    Testing on a coworkers machine is a good idea.
    Charles LaRocca
    SiriusBuzz Founder

  7. #7
    jjupin is offline
    Junior Member
    jjupin's Avatar
    Joined: Dec 2010 Posts: 7

    Smile

    Co-worker's machine didn't work either. So, gave up on that idea.

    Here's what finally did work for me (copied over from another thread I was writing in):

    I finally got it working - but not with a browser. I downloaded the following:

    http://software.informer.com/getfree...us-player-1.1/

    But, before I ran it, I did what M$ suggested and reset the media player settings:

    Open a terminal, and type the following:

    regsvr32.exe wmpdxm.dll

    Now, run the program from PGH Design - it's just a wrapper to the Sirius Widget - and voila, it works.

    Now, if you restart, like I did, sometimes the setting gets lost - so I've had to redo the regsvr32 command whenever PGH Design's widget doesn't stream.

    Not a perfect resolution - but at least I'm getting my tunes now.

    Again, IE8 and Firefox will not run even after the regsvr32 command. I have no idea what the difference is between these two things - but there's something.

    peace. JOe... now setting to ->

    ps: memorializing the microsoft resolution (fix): http://support.microsoft.com/kb/891736

  8. Ad Fairy Senior Member

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •