Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Sirius install using factory antenna 07 dodge ram

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    mbrady8 is offline
    Junior Member
    mbrady8's Avatar
    Joined: Jan 2008 Posts: 2

    Sirius install using factory antenna 07 dodge ram

    Thought I would post some pics of my install on my 07 Ram. I had a cable made to use the factory antenna so I didn't have to use the magnet one. Also, hardwired the power into the cig lighter and used a aux cable for the best sound. Any ?'s or comments would be great!! Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    SiriusBuzz is offline
    Head Honcho
    SiriusBuzz's Avatar
    Joined: May 2007 Posts: 2,524
    Looks like you never plan on hitting those terrestrial radio buttons ever again!

    Nice job man. I thought my install on my jeep install was a little clever and out of the norm much like yours. I hope others will share their installs, as this kind of info is great for anyone who is this facing this integration challenge.

    If you do any others or have any friends doing the same thing be sure to have them post. It would be awesome to be able to showcase as many makes an models as possible for the rest of the net.

    Thanks again and welcome to the forum.
    Charles LaRocca
    SiriusBuzz Founder

  3. #3
    denb45 is offline
    Enthusiast
    denb45's Avatar
    Joined: Mar 2009 Location: Albuquerque, NM Posts: 181
    Quote Originally Posted by mbrady8 View Post
    Thought I would post some pics of my install on my 07 Ram. I had a cable made to use the factory antenna so I didn't have to use the magnet one. Also, hardwired the power into the cig lighter and used a aux cable for the best sound. Any ?'s or comments would be great!! Thanks
    OK, let me get this right, you used a Factory Car Antenna to pick up SXM?
    I didn't even know this was Possible, unless your saying you used a SAT-Factory-installed car-antenna, and not a REG-AM/FM one? if it's a Factory-installed SAT antenna, then just disregard this post of mine......
    Last edited by denb45; 04-17-2009 at 08:42 PM.

  4. #4
    my name is matt is offline
    Enthusiast
    my name is matt's Avatar
    Joined: Apr 2009 Location: Chicago Posts: 123
    Quote Originally Posted by denb45 View Post
    OK, let me get this right, you used a Factory Car Antenna to pick up SXM?
    I didn't even know this was Possible, unless your saying you used a SAT-Factory-installed car-antenna, and not a REG-AM/FM one? if it's a Factory-installed SAT antenna, then just disregard this post of mine......
    He used the factory sat antenna on his car. There are different adapters available depending upon what car you have that will enable you to use your stock sat antenna. What car do you have and does it have a factory sat antenna?

  5. #5
    denb45 is offline
    Enthusiast
    denb45's Avatar
    Joined: Mar 2009 Location: Albuquerque, NM Posts: 181
    Quote Originally Posted by my name is matt View Post
    He used the factory sat antenna on his car. There are different adapters available depending upon what car you have that will enable you to use your stock sat antenna. What car do you have and does it have a factory sat antenna?
    Humm.........I though depending on what service you have XM or SRI, that you needed an XM-antenna for that service, or a SRI-antenna for that service, my friend tried to do that, and he had a XM OEM factory antenna, in a used car, that didn't have the OEM-Sat-radio in it, (he bought it that way) just a REG-Radio, so he bought a SIR-Starmate-radio, and it didn't work very well, with that XM Oem factory antenna, so, he ended up using the car-antenna that came with his startmate, and that worked Great, I'm not saying, this won't work, but, I'm only giving one scenario where this didn't work
    Last edited by denb45; 04-28-2009 at 02:23 PM.

  6. #6
    kellsbells is offline
    Junior Member
    kellsbells's Avatar
    Joined: May 2009 Posts: 3
    We have an '07 Dodge Ram and we would like to use the factory installed sirius antenna with my starmate 4. Can anyone tell me where to get a cable to run off the receiver and into the starmate?

  7. #7
    SiriusBuzz is offline
    Head Honcho
    SiriusBuzz's Avatar
    Joined: May 2007 Posts: 2,524
    Is it a factory receiver? You will need an aux input either in the front (headphone jack) or the rear of the unit (rca jack) but, these are not common on factory radios. If it had a cd changer jack in the back of it you could probably get a cd to rca cable adapter and run an rca to headphone cable from there. I actually use an rca-to-headphone to plug my sportster into the back of receiver. I hope I understood your question... feel free to elaborate.
    Charles LaRocca
    SiriusBuzz Founder

  8. #8
    Medic909 is offline
    Junior Member
    Medic909's Avatar
    Joined: Aug 2009 Posts: 1

    Nice ....

    How did you make the cable to use the stock antenna? I have been looking all over to figure this out and still no luck. Please advise me that would be greatly appreciated.

  9. #9
    fishman is offline
    Junior Member
    fishman's Avatar
    Joined: Aug 2009 Posts: 1

    Exclamation fishman needs help

    I have a 2008 dodge ram 1500 free year of sirius ran out , have a stiletto 2 and would like to install in truck using existing sat antennae ,also does factory radio have a line in connection in back of radio. and if so how easy is it to access

  10. #10
    denb45 is offline
    Enthusiast
    denb45's Avatar
    Joined: Mar 2009 Location: Albuquerque, NM Posts: 181
    Quote Originally Posted by fishman View Post
    I have a 2008 dodge ram 1500 free year of sirius ran out , have a stiletto 2 and would like to install in truck using existing sat antennae ,also does factory radio have a line in connection in back of radio. and if so how easy is it to access
    Unless that OEM radio has an AUX-IN in the back or the front, if it does, then you can play your Stiletto 2 thur your OEM-radio using the existing Sat-Antenna
    you might have to remove the fark cover on the OEM Sat-antenna-connector, as for powering up your Stiletto, you could use a cigarette-lighter-cord, are have it hard-wired into the accessories power panel.....
    Last edited by denb45; 08-13-2009 at 01:52 PM.

  11. Ad Fairy Senior Member
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •